Board Members

The Southern Gulf Island libraries represent five independently run library facilities on Pender, Mayne, Galiano, Saturna, and Piers islands. Each library has a governing Board which sets governance and operational policies.

The five libraries come together under the umbrella of the Pender Island Public Library Association to obtain funding from the Capital Regional District (CRD), Victoria BC, and the Libraries Branch, BC Ministry of Education.

Pender Island Public Library Association Trustees

  • Chairperson: Laura Vilness
  • Vice-chairperson: Lori Ragan
  • Trustee: Joanne Peacock
  • Trustee: Ralph Dawson
  • Trustee: Dianne Wilson
  • Trustee: Judy Pullen
  • Trustee: Kathy MacLachlan

PIPL Board Trustee Application Package


Mayne Island Community Library Board Members

(Mayne Reading Centre Society)
  • Chairperson: Marilyn Winterbottom
  • Vice-Chair: Judi Walker
  • Treasurer: Velda Lefler
  • Secretary: Karen Ramlo
  • Director: Eleanor Cocker
  • Director: Lynda Campbell
  • Director: Lee Anthony

Galiano Island Community Library Board Members

(Galiano Library Society)
  • Chairperson: Kris Dartnell
  • Treasurer: Marek Czuma
  • Director: John Coulthard
  • Director: Karen Harris
  • Director: Sher O’Hara
  • Director: Pat Van Holderbeke
  • Director: Lee Trentadue
  • Director: Lori Seay
  • Director: Margaret Howell
  • Director: Pauline Maitland
  • Director: Sarah Stang

Saturna Island Community Library Board members

(Eddie Reid Memorial Library Society)
  • Chairperson: Nancy Phillips
  • Treasurer: Carol Yakura
  • Director: Ellen McGinn
  • Director: Ilka Olsen
  • Director: Gitte Nelson
  • Director: Jane Stokes
  • Director: Colleen Mori
  • Director: Graeme Bregani

Piers Island Community Library governing members

(Piers Island Association)
  • Ginny Macoun
  • Charl Young
  • Evey Gabille

CRD Southern Gulf Islands Library Commission members

The five libraries, along with the CRD Director for the Southern Gulf Islands, make up the CRD’s Southern Gulf Islands Library Commission. This group focuses on providing common library services that benefit our island patrons, as well as sharing knowledge, interests and goals.

CRD SGI Library Commissioners 2020