Complete List of Online Resources (A-Z)
Below are digital media that our libraries subscribe to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You may need your library card to log into some of these databases.
ArtistWorks – Music & art lessons through free, self-paced videos taught by professionals. ArtistWorks offers 24 instrumental (guitar, piano, violin, banjo, percussion, jazz), voice, and fine-arts classes, from basic to advanced courses (by RBDigital).
BC Centre for Disease Control – Investigates and evaluates the occurrence of communicable diseases in BC and is the provincial reporting centre.
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
BC Open Textbooks – Download free online textbooks from the BC Min. of Advanced Education. The Open Textbook Project provides full post-secondary textbooks on arts, business, health, recreation and tourism, science, social science, trades and upgrading programs.
British Columbia Codes – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code, now available for free online from any device with internet access.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
ConsumerSearch – Features product reviews from a variety of quality sources.
DataBC – Provided by B.C. government department, this site contains thousands of data sets on a wide range of topics. Includes a geographic service to help map data, and tools to help conduct research, analyze statistics, develop apps.
ELSANet – English Language Services for Adults (ELSA) lists English language programs in BC and provides links of interest to ESL students and instructors.
EnerGuide – The Canadian guide to energy-efficient appliances, heating and cooling, and more.
Federal Science Library – Search multiple Government of Canada science library collections and repositories from a single place, view or request items from a vast collection of publications in science, technology, engineering and health.
GFC Learn Free – Learn and develop the skills needed to advance in work and life, through free online learning. Tutorials on math, reading, technology, finances, internet, photos, and more!
Health Canada – Federal department responsible for helping Canadians maintain and improve their health.
HealthLinkBC – Call 8-1-1 to speak with a registered nurse, dietitian, or pharmacist.
Healthy Canadians – A Government of Canada website that gives you access to reliable, easy-to-understand information about health and safety relating to many aspects of our lives.
IndieFlix/RB Digital – Watch award-winning shorts, features, and documentaries from more than 50 countries. Streaming movies available on all Internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), smart phones through the Web browser, and on Roku and Xbox.
Internet Mental Health Encyclopedia – Information on mental disorders, treatments and the research that is taking place.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
KnowBC – The leading source of British Columbia information.
LearnNowBC – is a single point of entry to distributed learning in British Columbia through the use of Edmark Learning Software.
Libby eBooks – The library’s digital collection of 20,000+ popular eBooks and eAudiobooks; use your library card to get free downloads to your computer, tablet or smartphone (by OverDrive).
Magazines/RB Digital – Over 200 online magazines that you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet or smartphone.
NNELS – The National Network for Equitable Library Service is a collection of free digital files in accessible e-text and audio formats for Canadians with print disabilities.
NewToBC – Find out services, programs and resources available to newcomers, offered by BC Libraries to help you succeed in your new community.
Points to the Past – Access to Historical Databases for all BC Residents.
PLOS Medicine – Public Library of Science: Independent medical journal.
Public Health Agency of Canada – The Public Health Agency of Canada aims to promote health, prevent and control chronic diseases and injuries & infectious diseases. They also prepare for and respond to public health emergencies.
RBdigital collections – With your library card and the RBDigital app, access a free suite of collections including 4,000+ audiobooks, eBooks, eMagazines, documentary films, and music lessons. Download titles to your home computer, or to a mobile device using the RBdigital app.
Romance Book Cloud – a huge collection of steamy romance novels for the older crowd!
Rocket Languages – An award winning interactive online language learning system allows patrons to learn conversational languages (15) at their own pace. The free program allows downloading for easy access at the user’s convenience. 90+ hrs of interactive instruction, with speech comparison, self-testing, and word games. Patrons can track their progress and downloads do not expire.
SeniorsBC – Provides BC seniors with resources for planning and living a healthy life as they age. Seniors’ families and caregivers will find great information here, too.
The Small Business Accelerator – an initiative of the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at the University of British Columbia, is curated by professional librarians to help you to research your business idea. Use this website to write a business plan, gage your growth potential, learn about market trends and to discover new opportunities. If you’re looking for secondary market research to inform your next step – you’ve come to the right place.
Teen Book Cloud – free eBooks perfect for middle and high school. Graphic novels, enhanced novels, classics, videos, and audiobooks. Available online around the clock, no downloads, no waiting! If you can access the internet, you can be reading, watching, or listening to fantastic content. No library card required.
Teen Health & Wellness – Support and self-help for teens on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more.
Tenant Survival Guide – Gives tenants rental tips and a basic understanding of residential tenancy law in BC and what it means to them.
TumbleBooks – a free collection of animated talking picture books, read-alongs, ebooks, quizzes, lesson plans, and educational games used by schools and public libraries
Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online (In Library Use Only) Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation.
WebMD – Excellent information on any health topic in an easy to understand format.
The World Bank – The Data Catalogue provides download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources.
World Health Organization (WHO) – WHO provides information, reports, and data pertaining to a variety of health topics.